Multiple DWI Convictions in Dallas
If you have been arrested for DWI, you are already aware of what a life-altering experience it is. In addition to the likely probability of losing your license for some amount of time, you face major fines, penalties, days in court, classes, legal fees, and a lot of stress.
However, if you are arrested for another DWI when you already have one or more convictions on your record, what you experienced as a result of your first offense pales in comparison. You face very serious consequences in Texas for multiple DWI convictions.
Multiple DWI’s are More Serious
The penalties imposed on second or subsequent DWI convictions are much higher than those imposed for first time convictions. If there is a mandatory term of imprisonment that accompanies your charge, it will be longer for your second or subsequent DWI. Any license revocation required as a result of your arrest will also be longer if you already have a DWI conviction on your record. It is therefore important to have an experienced Dallas DWI defense lawyer by your side from the moment you are arrested.
Penalties for a Second DWI Offense in Dallas
A second DWI in Dallas is a Class A misdemeanor and the penalties include a mandatory minimum of one month jail time. Texas does not have a look back period, which means even a DWI conviction from 30 years prior will count against you in a second charge.
At your administrative hearing, if it is found that the officer acted properly and your BAC was .08 or higher, your license will be suspended for a year. You will also have to pay $125 to have your license reinstated and you will have to pay a fine of $2,000 per year for three years to keep your license. This administrative penalty is just the tip of the iceberg. Criminally, you face a mandatory sentence of one month up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $4,000, and between 80 and 200 hours of community service. A second DWI sometimes also prompts the court to make you enter a substance abuse program.
Third or Subsequent DWI Arrest
Texas law provides that an individual who has two previous DWI convictions and is arrested for DWI again can be charged with a felony. The law also requires special bond provisions after a third arrest for DWI as a condition of release to maintain public safety. The condition is the installation of an ignition interlock device, which is similar to a breathalyzer test, and prevents your vehicle from starting until after you blow into the machine. Your car will only start if you have not consumed any alcohol.
The penalty for a third degree felony can be a fine of up to $10,000, a prison term of two to ten years, and a requirement that you install an ignition interlock device. You will also be sentenced to up to two years of probation and between 160 and 600 hours of community service. Your license will be suspended for a minimum of six months to a maximum of two years after any prison sentence is served.
Dallas DWI Trial Defense Firm is Ready to Defend You
If you have any prior DWI convictions in Texas or another state and have been arrested for DWI in Dallas, it is vital that you seek an experienced criminal defense attorney to protect your interests and your freedom. At the Wilder DWI Defense Firm we know what it takes to defend any DWI case, whether it is your first arrest or if you have been arrested multiple times. Contact us so we can discuss your case with you and provide you with your legal options.
Texas Sentencing Guidelines for Drug Offenses
Sex Offender Rights: How Texas Sex Offender Registration Works
Contact Us for
Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week
Sign up to our newsletter and get the latest tips