CALL 24/7 (214) 741-4000

  • Aggravated Sexual Assault Defense

Dallas’s Tough Aggravated Sexual Assault Attorney

Are you or a loved one facing aggravated sexual assault charges in Texas? In Texas, sexual assault charges can come with some steep penalties — getting convicted can result in a 2-20 year prison sentence and up to $10,000 in fines.

If your charge is upgraded to aggravated sexual assault in Texas, you could be facing 25-to-life and again, up to $10,000 in fines. Being convicted of aggravated sexual assault also lands you on the Texas Sex Offender Registry, potentially for life.

There are a lot of factors at play in a Texas aggravated sexual assault charge, and trying to understand them all by yourself could cost you precious time. The time to fight for your reputation and freedom is now. Get the facts, and contact The Wilder Firm today to schedule your free consultation.

What is Considered Aggravated Sexual Assault?

No matter where you’re from, if you’ve been charged with aggravated sexual assault, it’s important to understand how those aggravated sexual charges assault charges are determined. In Texas, aggravated sexual assault and sexual assault have different burdens of proof for the prosecution.

According to Texas Penal Code §22.011, sexual assault in Texas occurs when someone harms another person or threatens to harm that person through a sexual attack. These attacks include but are not limited to unwanted groping, rape, forced touching of or penetration by a sexual organ, and drugging someone against their will.

Sexual assault charges can be elevated to aggravated sexual assault in Texas, according to Texas Penal Code §22.021, when the act of sexual assault was committed with violence or kidnapping, or threats of violence or kidnapping directed at the victim or others.  Additionally, more severe sexual assault allegations can be prosecuted as aggravated sexual assault in Texas, including:

  • Sexual assault of a child under the age of 14
  • Sexual assault of an elderly or disabled victim
  • Sexual assault resulting in serious bodily harm
  • Sexual assault involving a deadly weapon
  • Attempting to kill the victim during the assault

If you are charged with aggravated sexual assault in Texas, the prosecution must prove intent (among other factors) in order to secure a conviction. Every detail about the alleged incident matters, and proving that the accusations warrant the specific charge can be made challenging with the right defense.

Additional penalties for Aggravated Sexual Assault in Texas

Aggravated sexual assault is a first-degree felony. In addition to the penalties listed above, if your aggravated sexual assault charges involved a deadly weapon and/or a minor under the age of six, the penalty for conviction increases substantially. In Texas, aggravated sexual assault with a deadly weapon and aggravated sexual assault of a child under the age of six both carry a minimum 25-year jail sentence if convicted.

Defend Your Freedom and Your Reputation — Contact the The Wilder Firm for Aggravated Sexual Assault Defense!

Being charged with aggravated sexual assault in Texas can derail your life. Don’t risk your freedom on cheap defense. As both an aggressive defense attorney and a former prosecutor for the State of Texas, Doug Wilder and his team at The Wilder Firm understand the intricacies of aggravated sexual assault charges in Texas, and will stop at nothing to ensure that your rights are upheld in a court of law.

If you’ve been charged with aggravated sexual assault, the clock is ticking. You and your lawyer will need as much time as possible to investigate the facts and build your case. Don’t wait. Get started on the right foot by contacting us today to schedule a free consultation.

Latest Articles

Criminal Defense

The Top 4 Dangers of Hiring Cheap Lawyers in Dallas

Sex Crimes

The Romeo & Juliet Law in Texas: How It Works

Get a free consultation