Insurance Fraud Attorney
Defense for Business Fraud Charges in Dallas
The laws related to business fraud in Texas are substantial and quite detailed. If arrested and charged for a crime of business fraud in Dallas, it is important that you contact an attorney in the area who has the knowledge and experience to properly represent you in your legal matters.
There are a variety of different types of business fraud that Texas law recognizes. That being said, it is in your best interest to not only contact an attorney after being arrested with business fraud, but to also educate yourself on the various laws.
Insurance Fraud is a Crime in Texas
One common area of fraud is that of insurance fraud. Texas law states that a person commits the act of insurance fraud when the individual:
- Prepares a statement that the person knows to contain false or misleading material information; and is presented to an insurer; or
- Presents a statement to an insurer that the person knows to contain false or misleading information.
Insurance fraud may also be committed when an individual, with intent to defraud or deceive an insurer and in support of an application for an insurance policy, prepares a statement that:
- The individual knows contains false or misleading information; and is presented to an insurer; or
- Presents to an insurer a statement that the person knows contains false or misleading information.
This crime is generally classified as a State Jail felony.
Lastly, a person will commit an act of insurance fraud if, with the intent to defraud or deceive an insurer, the person solicits, offers, pays, or receives a benefit in connection with the furnishing of goods or services for which a claim for payment is submitted under the guise of an insurance policy.
Texas Penalties for Insurance Fraud
The penalties associated with insurance fraud will vary depending on the amount of money at issue. The charges can range from the level of misdemeanor to felony:
- If the claim is less than $50, it is considered to be a Class C misdemeanor;
- If the claim is between $50-$500, it is considered to be a Class B misdemeanor;
- If the claim is between $500-$1,500, it is considered to be a Class A misdemeanor;
- If the claim is between $1,500-$20,000, it is considered to be a State Jail felony;
- If the claim is between $20,000-$100,000, it is considered to be a Third Degree felony;
- If the claim is between $100,000-$200,000, it is considered to be a Second Degree felony; and
- If the claim is $200,000 or more; or an act committed in connection with the offense puts a person at risk of death or a potential serious bodily injury, it is considered to be a First Degree felony.
Different classes of misdemeanors, and different degrees of felonies mean a different standard for punishment. For example, a Class C misdemeanor is less severely punished than a Class A misdemeanor. Texas law has set specific sentencing requirements for the varying charges:
- Class C: Fine up to $500;
- Class B: Fine up to $2,000 and jail time for as much as 180 days;
- Class A: Fine up to $4,000 and jail time up to one year;
- State Jail felony: Fine up to $10,000 and jail time between 180 days and 2 years;
- Third Degree: Fine up to $10,000 and imprisonment between 2-10 years;
- Second Degree: Fine up to $10,000 and imprisonment between 2-20 years;
- First Degree: Fine up to $10,000 and imprisonment between 5-99 years.
Call The Wilder Firm Today for Help
If you are facing charges of insurance fraud, or another type of business fraud, contact an experienced Dallas attorney who will listen to the facts of your case and guide you through this difficult process.
Texas Sentencing Guidelines for Drug Offenses
Sex Offender Rights: How Texas Sex Offender Registration Works
Get a free consultation
Sign up to our newsletter and get the latest tips