Dating Violence Charges in North Texas
Dallas, Plano & Collin County Domestic Violence Defense Lawyers
In Texas, there are categories of both family violence and dating violence. Family violence concerns those related by blood or marriage, as well as individuals living together in the same household. Dating violence, however, relates to relationship abuse and is defined as a pattern of violent behavior that one uses against a girlfriend or boyfriend.
This type of violence is usually perpetrated by an individual in order to establish power, control, and dominance over another person. This is generally done by using intimidation and fear. This category of violence can take many forms: mental/emotional abuse, physical abuse, along with sexual abuse.
This type of violence does not require those involved to be in long-term, committed relationships. This violence can occur in casual relationships as well. Furthermore, this offense can arise in both teen and adult relationships.
Teen dating violence is a big concern in Texas. There is a high number of teens in the state that have experienced some type of dating violence in a past relationship. This includes verbal, emotional, and physical abuse. Victims of dating violence have the option of both civil and criminal remedies available to them.
Can You Face Criminal Charges for Domestic Violence in Texas?
Victims of dating violence may file assault charges against the alleged offender. The assault charges can range from misdemeanor charges to felony charges. Depending on the circumstances, the assault charges can range from misdemeanor offenses to felony offenses. For example, a victim may charge an individual with sexual assault after an incidence classified as domestic violence. If the victim is successful with her case, the convicted individual could receive penalties such as 2-20 years in prison and as much as $10,000 in fines.
Can You Face Civil Charges for Domestic Violence in Texas?
Victims of dating violence may also choose to file a protective order administered by the civil court. These orders are granted in order to give victims of dating violence protection from their violent boyfriend or girlfriend. Specifically, the protective order will guard the victim from future acts of assault, dating violence, and/or stalking.
The protective order is likely to include other rules which the alleged perpetrator must follow. For example, the court may require the individual to seek counseling in order to be in compliance with the terms of the protective order. A protective order can only issued by a judge and is generally in place for up to two years. Extensions on this time may be allowed when deemed necessary.
While some may consider a protective order ineffective when dealing with dating violence, the opposite is often true. If an individual violates a protective order and the police are informed, that individual will likely be arrested and charged with violating the terms of the protective order.
Common violations associated with protective orders include: Committing violent acts against the victim; Engaging in prohibited forms of communication with the victim; Being in possession of firearms and ammunition; Failing to attend a required treatment or counseling program; and Failing to pay court costs.
These violations can lead to penalties involving fines and/or jail time for the offender.
Do You Need an Attorney?
If you are facing legal issues related to dating violence, contact a seasoned attorney who will listen to the facts of your case and will advocate on your behalf. The Wilder Firm can protect your rights while tirelessly challenging your charges. Contact us to schedule a free case evaluation.
Texas Sentencing Guidelines for Drug Offenses
Sex Offender Rights: How Texas Sex Offender Registration Works
Get a free consultation
Sign up to our newsletter and get the latest tips