In Texas, drunk driving is prosecuted with a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charge. DWI is a very serious offense, capable of being punished with substantial fines and surcharges for even first-time offenders, as well as imprisonment, community service, loss or restriction of driving privileges, and court ordered alcohol and substance abuse education classes. Because intoxication varies in accordance with age, gender, height, weight, and sensitivity to alcohol, the state of Texas, as with all others, uses an objective standard for DWI. This standard is Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC). Individuals driving with a BAC above 0.08% are committing the offense of DWI under Texas law. Take time now to learn of the cost and time commitment related to court ordered alcohol and substance abuse classes so you think twice about getting behind the wheel after drinking.
Even First-Time DWI Offenders Will Be Required To Complete An Educational Program
Even if you are the furthest thing from an alcoholic, you will be required to complete and alcohol and substance abuse education course if you are convicted of DWI in Texas. Even if you rarely drink, and two glasses of wine at dinner led to a BAC of 0.081%, you will be arrested for DWI, and if convicted, you will be ordered to pay for and complete an education course with 180 days of conviction. If you were lucky enough to keep your driving privileges after an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing after your arrest, you will lose said license if you do not complete an education program within 180 days. Typically, a court ordered alcohol and substance abuse program will be 12 hours in length. The purpose of the program is to increase DWI offenders’ knowledge of the effects of alcohol and drugs on driving skills, as well as to help offenders identify their own drinking/drug use and driving patterns and thereby put a plan in place to avoid the patterns. Specific course topics include:
- Alcohol/Drug and Traffic Safety Problems
- Texas Laws Concerning DWI
- Effect of Alcohol/Drugs
- Alcohol/Drugs and Driving Ability
- Chemical Dependency
- Symptoms of Dependency
- Getting Help
- Financial Costs of DWI
What To Do If You Have Been Arrested For DWI In The State Of Texas
If you have been arrested for DWI in the state of Texas, you may be able to challenge the state’s case against you. Contact an experienced Texas DWI attorney to understand the state’s charge against you, and your legal options. For the state’s case to stand, the arresting officer must have possessed probable cause when pulling you over and asking you to provide a BAC sample. Additionally, the officer must have complied with a number of procedural requirements in pulling you over and making the arrest. If probable cause did not exist, or if the procedural requirements were not met, a skilled Texas DWI attorney will find out and use these failures by the state to fight the charges against you.