Blog

DWI Recordings: A Public Affair

The Texas Supreme Court recently decided a case involving a country music superstar and the details of his DWI arrest in 2012. The case has made its way through the court system in Texas, and asks whether the private and embarrassing details caught on camera by a police officer are part of the public record and releasable by the government. ... Read more >

Texas Governor Signs Second Chance Bill into Law

Now that it is law, those accused and convicted of a DWI for the first time are getting somewhat of a break. After much debate and a waiting period for the Governor’s signature, this second chance bill is now the law. Critics are coming in from different angles, but overall, the new law is being received favorably as a great way to provide people with a second chance. ... Read more >

30-Year Prison Sentence for DWI

A man out of South Texas recently received a lengthy sentence after being convicted for DWI. According to news reports, the man was sentenced to 30 years in prison after a jury in San Antonio convicted the man of DWI. The records show that this was his 11th conviction over a span of more than 30 years. ... Read more >

What You Need to Know About Your Texas DWI Charge

Texas imposes harsh penalties for those charged and convicted of a DWI, particularly those who have multiple convictions. First time-offenders will likely be sentenced to three days in jail, a two-year license suspension and a fine of $2,000.00. A second DWI conviction within five years of the first will result in a minimum of 30 days jail time in addition to a $4,000.00 fine. Texas law requires the installation of an ignition interlock device for five years following a second DWI conviction at the offender’s expense.... Read more >

What to Expect in Your Texas DWI Case

While many states in the union call driving under the influence or intoxicated a “DUI,” the state of Texas refers to this offense as a DWI. Typically, a DWI is defined as a maximum blood alcohol content, or BAC, of 0.08% for Texas drivers 21 and older. Texas does have a zero tolerance policy for drivers who are under the age of 21 and found to be operating a vehicle under the influence. This means that an under-21 driver can receive a DWI charge for driving with any measurable alcohol content in their systems. What Happens in a DWI Case... Read more >

Who Qualifies for Texas Nondisclosure Orders?

Texas legislators passed HB 3016 earlier this year, a law that now allows those convicted of a first-time DWI offense with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of less than 0.15 to petition the court for an order of nondisclosure of criminal history relating to the DWI offense. The commonly referred to term of “sealing” a record, or making the criminal offense private from the view of the general public, is known as “nondisclosure” in Texas. There are certain requirements, however, that must be met in order to be eligible for this under current Texas law.... Read more >

New Texas Law Gives First-Time DWI Offenders a “Second Chance”

Having a criminal record affects several areas of a person’s everyday life, from employment to housing to other activities that require a background search. Even when a criminal offense is non-violent and unintended, negative consequences will follow a conviction. Earlier this year, Texas legislators recognized the stigma associated with criminal convictions and passed the bipartisan HB 3016 that expands the opportunity to seal a criminal conviction with an order of nondisclosure.... Read more >

Texas DWIs and SR-22 Insurance

Dallas DWI cases often result in license suspension issues in addition to a criminal case. If you or someone you know has had his or her driver’s license suspended in Texas because of a DWI criminal conviction, or as part of an administrative (ALR) suspension, it is highly likely if the opportunity is given to drive again legally, you would want to take it. Occupational Drivers License... Read more >

Dallas DWI Conviction: Interlock and SCRAM as Conditions

If you have been arrested or convicted of driving while intoxicated (“DWI”), you may have been ordered to use an interlock system (“interlock”) or a Secure Continuous Remote Alcohol Monitor (“SCRAM”) as part of your sentencing. Below are some examples under Texas law when a DWI conviction may require the installation of an interlock or SCRAM as a condition of bail, intervention programs, and probation. Interlock and SCRAM Conditions in Texas... Read more >

Is the Zero Tolerance Law in Texas Really Set at Zero?

In the state of Texas, there is a “zero-tolerance law” when it comes to drivers who are under the age of 21 and are found driving under the influence. This is because it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to be consuming alcohol at all under state law. While some states have set the allowable blood-alcohol content (BAC) for drivers under the age of 21 at 0.00%, this is not the case in Texas.... Read more >

Pages